The Official Point-to-Point Website for the Wessex Area

ALL THE CHAMPIONSHIPS ARE NOW FINISHED - These are the final standings

The Spillers Awards will be presented at the Wessex Area Awards Evening

Saturday 2nd July 2022 at Holiday Inn, Taunton TA1 2UA

6.30pm - 12am    Tickets £45


Group: Course Awards
Sponsor: Mrs Lucinda Roberts
Course: 499
Brief Biography

Tedworth Hunt Members Race, Larkhill, 16 May 1981: Meeting Secretary, Roger Roberts canters to the start on odds-on favourite, Now Hear This. They made most and won very easily.

Roger Roberts, who died aged 83 in August 2017, rode 62 winners (including some under Rules and in Germany) in a riding career spanning 40 years. It started with Jazz Fanatic at Tismans in West Sussex on 9 May 1953, with the first of his 46 P-t-P winners coming the following year (Cinderella Man at Edenbridge), and the last (Call On Dickins - famously by then, both horse and rider had a single working eye apiece) in the 1990 Avon Vale Members at Nedge.  An enthusiastic corinthian amateur rider - a now very endangered species, he finally retired from the saddle on 18 April 1992.

A bon-viveur and very generous host, he was also a most effective Secretary of the Tedworth P-t-P for 15 years from 1973. Throughout his tenure the meeting was held at Larkhill - his 'spiritual home' - and his ashes were scattered 'between the last fence and the jam stick' as he requested.

In memory of her husband, Lucinda Roberts (herself a multiple winning Larkhill rider, owner and trainer) has donated a perpetual silver cup, the Roger Roberts Trophy and a memento.


For Larkhill's most successful Novice Horse which was still a maiden when first running at Larkhill in the current season. Uniquely for a Larkhill Award, points may be scored at other courses and in hunter chases. The winner also receives a permanent memento.

  • 12 pts for 1st, 6 pts for 2nd and 4 pts for 3rd in hunter chases; 10 pts for 1st, 5 pts for 2nd and 3 pts for 3rd in all Mens, Ladies and Mixed Opens; and 7 pts for 1st, 5 pts for 2nd and 3 pts for 3rd in all other P-t-P races.
  • In the case of a dead heat, the points for the particular position shall be added to that of the next position and divided equally between those involved.
  • Points may be scored in any GB P-t-P race or hunter chase in the current season (subject to the following conditions):
  • Scoring will end at the same time as the other Larkhill Awards

Any points earned prior to a horse’s first appearance at Larkhill will not count.


Past Winners

Current Standings

Preview on the Fixtures page