The Official Point-to-Point Website for the Wessex Area

The Wessex Area Awards have now finished

Click on any Award to see the final standings

As the Wessex Area 2020-21 season was unfortunately limited to just five meetings, the Area has decided that the Annual Awards will not be formally presented. This is in line with the decision taken last year.

However we we would like to recognise the huge efforts that all participants have put in throughout the season and their continued support of the Wessex Area, so consequently in conjunction with one of our long standing sponsors, Tanners Wine Merchants of Shrewsbury, we would like to present the winners of both Trainer awards, leading lady jockey, leading male jockey, leading novice jockey and also leading owner with a bottle of Tanners champagne. We will be in touch with the winners shortly.

Group: Course Awards
Sponsor: West of England BPA
Course: 499
Brief Biography

The West of England Bookmakers Protection Association is an affiliate of the National Association of Bookmakers (NAB). which strives to ameliorate the image and status of the bookmaking and racing industry (especially horseracing and greyhound racing) and to defend the interests of its members. It gives practical help and advice to individual bookmakers and its affiliated area associations. One of the NAB’s main objectives is to ensure that the interests of on- and off-course bookmakers are treated equally. In pursuing its objectives, the NAB reflects the wishes of its constituent member associations, adopts a constructive attitude in its dealings with other organisations in the racing industry and, where appropriate, acts in tandem with them for the common good.

The Trophy was first presented in 2002.


For the Leading Owner-Trainer at Larkhill.

The winner will also receive £100 to bet at Larkhill in the following season.

The presentation is made at a Larkhill Awards Event held in The Queen's Building at the racecourse.

To be eligible to score points for this Award

  1. The Trainer must be one of the named Owners or a member of the family if the horse runs in ‘Family’ name
  2. The horse must not run in the name of a Club or syndicate (except as allowed in 1 above)
  3. The horse must have no more than three individually-named owners (including the Trainer)


  • This Award is for Owner-Trainers only
  • All other Trainers compete for the Tom Inglis Memorial Trophy
  • Points cannot be scored in both Awards with the same horse

Mens, Ladies and Mixed Opens:10 pts for 1st, 5 pts for 2nd and 3 pts for 3rd 

All other Races: 7 pts for 1st, 5 pts for 2nd and 3 pts for 3rd

In the case of a dead heat, the points for the particular position shall be added to that of the next position and divided equally between those involved

Past Winners

Current Standings



Preview on the Fixtures page

That's it for the 2021 season look forward to updtaing you on provisional dats for 2022 season soon