The Official Point-to-Point Website for the Wessex Area

The Wessex Area Awards have now finished

Click on any Award to see the final standings

As the Wessex Area 2020-21 season was unfortunately limited to just five meetings, the Area has decided that the Annual Awards will not be formally presented. This is in line with the decision taken last year.

However we we would like to recognise the huge efforts that all participants have put in throughout the season and their continued support of the Wessex Area, so consequently in conjunction with one of our long standing sponsors, Tanners Wine Merchants of Shrewsbury, we would like to present the winners of both Trainer awards, leading lady jockey, leading male jockey, leading novice jockey and also leading owner with a bottle of Tanners champagne. We will be in touch with the winners shortly.

Group: Course Awards
Sponsor: John Halifax Hats
Course: 499
Brief Biography

Lt Col R.T.S. (Tom) Inglis (pronounced Ingles, 1918-1994) was twice Clerk of the Course at Larkhill, in the ‘50s and ‘60s, and a long-time member of the United Services Committee. When he retired from the Army in the early '60s he became a Stipendiary Steward (at that time called a Stewards Secretary) and rose to be the Senior Stewards Secretary of the Jockey Club. Following his wife Diana's death in 2000, his executor and well-known Larkhill Racecourse Trustee, Colonel Jasper Browell, presented the cup Tom had won riding Square Kiss in the Pindi Races in India in 1940 in his memory. It was first awarded in 2001.

The winner will also receive a £50 voucher kindly donated by Halifax Hats.

The presentations are made at a Larkhill Awards Event held in The Queen's Building at the racecourse.



For the Leading Trainer at Larkhill.

PLEASE NOTE: Owner-Trainers (who compete for the West of England Bookmakers Association Cup) do not also feature in this Championship


Mens, Ladies and Mixed Opens:10 pts for 1st, 5 pts for 2nd and 3 pts for 3rd

All other Races: 7 pts for 1st, 5 pts for 2nd and 3 pts for 3rd

In the case of a dead heat, the points for the particular position shall be added to that of the next position and divided equally between those involved


Past Winners

Current Standings

Preview on the Fixtures page

That's it for the 2021 season look forward to updtaing you on provisional dats for 2022 season soon