The Official Point-to-Point Website for the Wessex Area

The Wessex Area Awards have now finished

Click on any Award to see the final standings

As the Wessex Area 2020-21 season was unfortunately limited to just five meetings, the Area has decided that the Annual Awards will not be formally presented. This is in line with the decision taken last year.

However we we would like to recognise the huge efforts that all participants have put in throughout the season and their continued support of the Wessex Area, so consequently in conjunction with one of our long standing sponsors, Tanners Wine Merchants of Shrewsbury, we would like to present the winners of both Trainer awards, leading lady jockey, leading male jockey, leading novice jockey and also leading owner with a bottle of Tanners champagne. We will be in touch with the winners shortly.

Group: Course Awards
Sponsor: Nina Squire, equine artist
Course: 499
Brief Biography


For the Leading Horse at Larkhill.

The owner will receive the Larkhill Specialist Cup. This silver trophy was already old when first awarded for a Royal Artillery race in 1889. It records the winners of two or three races each year until 1908 when it became the Lightweight Cup. In 1949 it was re-designated the Hunt Members and Farmers Cup and competed for in that guise until 1969. It was first presented as The Larkhill Specialist Cup in 1974. The original base, with additions to accommodate all the names, had become disproportionately large and was replaced in 2002.

The winner will also recieve a head portrait of the winning horse by leading equine artist Nina Squire.

Presentation is made at a Larkhill Awards Event held in The Queen's Building at the racecourse.



10 pts for 1st, 5 pts for 2nd and 3 pts for 3rd in all Mens, Ladies and Mixed Open races

7 pts for 1st, 5 pts for 2nd and 3 pts for 3rd in all other races at Larkhill

In the case of a dead heat, the points for the particular position shall be added to that of the next position and divided equally between those involved

Past Winners

Current Standings

Preview on the Fixtures page

That's it for the 2021 season look forward to updtaing you on provisional dats for 2022 season soon