The Official Point-to-Point Website for the Wessex Area


Group: Area Awards
Sponsor: The Dufosee Family
Brief Biography

John Dufosee ("Duf") started riding in races when he was just 14 years old and in the following 25 years rode 79 winners. He also finished second on Bantry Bay (winner of two consecutive Horse & Hound Cups) in the 1964 Liverpool Foxhunters and rode the famed Stalbridge Colonist, one of the few horses to beat Arkle, in his final racecourse appearance. These were two of many generations of good horses bred by his grandfather, Harry Dufosee. After retiring from the saddle, John trained hundreds of winners – 37 in his single most successful season from Nyland Farm. Straightforward and always helpful, he was the sport’s greatest ambassador, always tempting new people in – even the urban-based. And having persuaded them to have a horse, he would then lobby them even harder to ride it themselves – encouraging and nurturing the slightest talent. John died aged 66 on 27 May 2010. 


This Trophy is awarded to the Wessex Area's Leading Owner-Rider, the sort of competitor that John did so much to encourage. First awarded in 2011, it is presented By Mrs Teresa Dufosee at the Wessex Area Awards Evening.

To be eligible to score points for this Award

  1. The rider must be one of the named Owners or a member of the family if the horse runs in ‘Family’ name
  2. The horse must not run in the name of a club or syndicate (except as allowed in 1 above)
  3. The horse must have no more than three individually-named owners (including the rider)

Eligible riders score 4 pts for 1st, 2 pts for 2nd and 1 pt for 3rd in all P-t-P races run at Badbury Rings, Charlton Horethorne, Chilfrome, Cothelstone, Cotley, Holnicote, Larkhill, Milborne St Andrew, South Hill and Ston Easton

In the case of a dead heat, the points for the particular position shall be added to that of the next position and divided equally between those involved.

Past Winners

Current Standings


Sunday 5th May

Devon & Somerset Staghounds @ South Hill

First Race 2.00pm

Tickets available on the gate